Animation 101: Pendulum

I tried to do the pendulum in stop motion so many times and it seemed like I was not getting better at it. It was frustrating me a lot. I don’t do that well with the bar sheets, so I had made cut outs instead. I tried different calculations every time, but the end result seemed to end up being the same.

250px-Doubochinski_pendulum.svg

I watched a lot of videos about pendulum and I thought that I understand how it works. It does not seem that there is that much to it, but when I actually had to make the animation it just flopped.

Now when I look at my stop motion videos I can see everything that I had done wrong in them, but at the time my eyes were too tired to see all the mistakes. I can see that all of the swings are going a bit too high up.

My Maya pendulum animation is a bit better than my stop motion one, because I did Maya one later. I think if I had done it the other way around then my stop motion pendulum animation would have been better. Plus I had done the stop motion pendulum animation so many times that I kind of already knew where I had gone wrong the previous times.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment